The Unspoken Language

This week as I sat down to write this post, my mind was filled with great ideas, that is, until I put them onto paper.  With every attempt at a post, I read the final product and wasn’t satisfied, and I really couldn’t think of a way to fix it either.  So, I did what every writer does when they encounter writer’s block, and just up and left my computer.  Sometimes, the best way to write is to clear your head and just not think about it, and by George it worked!

Quesadillas and conversation

To help clear my head (and fill my stomach), I made my way to a little family owned Mexican place that never fails to put a smile on my face.  As I waited in line, the man in front of me turned around and started a conversation.  From the minute we started talking, I knew he was a farmer.  He never told me he was, it was just in his nature.  During our wait, we talked about the weather, the upcoming calving season, and how ready we were for spring to arrive.

The farmer’s eyes

So you might be thinking, how did you know that he was a farmer?  Well my friend, it’s simple.  When you spot a farmer, you’ll see callused hands, rough from all the years of working outdoors.  When they walk, they walk heavy from all the years of wearing work boots.  When they smile, you feel like you’ve known them for years.  And when you see their eyes, you will never see anything more honest.

The language

The language is unspoken, but it’s there nonetheless.  It’s an ongoing trust that says no matter when you need me, I will be there.  It’s the bond that allows farmers to pick up on a conversation in the middle of the city and talk as if they’d known each other for years.

Writing this made me think of my Great Grandpa; even if you didn’t know him, there was no doubt that he was a farmer.  His back was one that had labored many days in the hot sun and cold winter, and his hands wore the many calluses of long work days.  His smile made you smile, and in his eyes you could see the years of memories of caring for the crops, the animals, and his family.

There’s a lot to be said for this unspoken language, it truly is what brings so much life to a simple smile, a handshake, and a glimpse into someone’s eyes.

 

-Haley

Leave a Reply

